Daylight Saving Time is Here

Remember to set your clocks forward by an hour before you go to bed Saturday (and brew that coffee extra strong the next morning).

(Credit Creative Commons: blue2likeyou)

Today, March 10 at 2 a.m., the Eastern Time Zone officially switched from standard time to daylight-saving time, giving us a later sunrise and sunset while depriving us—sadly—of sixty minutes of sleep.

Daylight-saving time and time zones are regulated by the U. S. Department of Transportation, not by NIST. However, as an official timekeeper for the United States, NIST observes all rules regarding DST when it distributes time-of-day information to the public.

What are the current rules for daylight saving time?

The rules for DST changed in 2007 for the first time in more than 20 years. The new changes were enacted by the Energy Policy Act of 2005, which extended the length of DST in the interest of reducing energy consumption. The new rules increased the duration of DST by about one month. DST will now be in effect for 238 days, or about 65% of the year, although Congress retained the right to revert to the prior law should the change prove unpopular or if energy savings are not significant. At present, daylight-saving time in the United States

  • begins at 2 a.m. on the second Sunday of March and
  • ends at 2 a.m. on the first Sunday of November

In 2013, DST is from 2 a.m. (local time) on March 10 until 2 a.m. (local time) on Nov. 3.

@ 2013 Patch,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *